Foodie Pen Pals: July 2013

My awesome package from Crystal!

In a nutshell: After this first experience with Foodie Pen Pals, I highly encourage food lovers of all kinds to join in on the fun.

I was blog-surfing a few months back and happened upon a program known as Foodie Pen Pals. The idea fascinated me: each month, participants (both bloggers and blog readers) send fun foodie things, local food items, homemade treats, and the like to each other within a spending limit of $15. I was impressed by the sheer magnitude of participants: over a thousand in the US and Canada, as well as several hundred in the UK. Plus, who doesn’t like to receive a surprise package in the mail (snail mail is so underrated!)? I finally signed up for the first time this past month and was excited to join the network!

For the month of July, I was assigned to Lauren of Girl and Pup. With her craving for dark chocolate and snacking habits not unlike my own, knowing what to pack in her box was a no-brainer. I was especially thrilled I could introduce her to an epic dark chocolate chocolate chip cookie from Levain Bakery (only the best cookies I’ve ever had). (Catch her recap here.)

Shipping out to Lauren!

Shipping out to Lauren!

My package this month came from Crystal of Angelorian Tradition. She sent me all sorts of fantastic local snacks from her great state of Nebraska! Thank you for all the great goodies, Crystal! (Her July FPP post is here.)

A beautiful quote on the package!

A beautiful quote on the package!

My awesome package from Crystal!

My awesome package from Crystal!

Wonderful local snacks, all from Nebraska.

Wonderful local snacks, all from Nebraska.

Chandler’s Sandhill’s 100% Pure Honey: The vast variety of honeys out there never ceases to amaze me. I put it on/into everything: crackers, apples, croissants, fried chicken, even chocolate avocado pudding. (: I’m pleased to note that Nebraska bees make an excellent version.
The Nebraska Pantry’s Garlic & Parmesan Gourmet Dip Mix: It’s always fun to mix a bit of dry dip mix with a couple spoons of good olive oil; it’s the perfect accompaniment for a crusty French baguette or fragrant herb focaccia.
Double K Popcorn’s Microwave Popcorn (Butter Flavor and Natural Flavor): Catering to my snacking needs, both popcorn varieties had great flavor and puffed up quite nicely after a spin in the microwave.
Fort Cody Trading Post’s Wild Berry Taffy: A great mix of fruity candies. I’m usually not a taffy person, but these had a good chew and weren’t overly sweet. A great treat to store on my desk (and share with friends!).
Windmill Hills’ Water: A refreshing drink from the sandhills of Nebraska!

I’m looking forward to participating in the next Foodie Pen Pals exchange! If you’d like to join in on the fun, click on the link below:

The Lean Green Bean

To catch any of my future Foodie Pen Pals experiences, check them out here.

One response to “Foodie Pen Pals: July 2013

Penne for your thoughts?

