Foodie Pen Pals: September 2013

FPP-Sept3

In a nutshell: Kentucky’s got more than just fried chicken, as this month’s Foodie Pen Pals experience showed me!

It’s another month of Foodie Pen Pals! Each month, the program pairs participants (both bloggers and blog readers) to send fun foodie things, local food items, homemade treats, and the like to each other within a spending limit of $15. This was the first time that the program organized direct matches instead of staggered matches, meaning that I sent a package to the same person who sent to me.

FPP-Sept2

Shipping some Philly love out to Kentucky!

For the month of September, I was paired with Kelsey of the Blonder Side of Life. I was excited to find myself assigned to a nut butter and chocolate fan; I knew that the butterscotch peanut butter from Kauffman’s Lancaster County Produce and Lore’s chocolate would be just the ticket, amongst other tasty snacks.

FPP-Sept

Kelsey’s personalized local treats!

I was so excited to receive goodies from the “Bluegrass State.”

Old Kentucky Chocolates: Bourbon is a staple in Kentucky, and Kelsey was kind enough to send me two kinds of treats incorporating the spirit: Bourbon Chocolates and Bourbon Cherries. Both featured 100 proof Jim Beam Bourbon and semi-sweet dark chocolate. While I’m not a huge fan of alcohol, it was cool to try such a popular local sweet.
Weisenberger’s Spoon Bread Mix: A cross between cornmeal, grits, and cornbread, I was excited to cook a batch of this up. Made with  locally grown white corn, it was easy to mix up, cook in a casserole dish, and spoon onto my plate. It tasted amazing lathered with butter and…
Nick & Bev Nickels’ Pure Honey: This local farm produces organic honey, pollen, and beeswax candles for its clientele; the pure, raw, golden delicacy was fragrant and found its way onto more than just spoon bread.
Stretch Island Fruit Co.’s Fruit Strips: Kelsey sent me Mango Sunrise and Ripened Raspberry. What perfect fruity snacks for those midday munchies!
Dole Chia & Fruit Clusters: I’m a huge fan of granola clusters, and this was a great new version to sample.
Fire on the Ridge Farm’s Bluegrass Red Ghost Hot Pepper Sauce:
Incorporating home-grown peppers and aged for one full year in the oak casks of one of Kentucky’s premier distillers, this sauce tickled my tongue quite pleasantly. I love me some spicy.

For my past Foodie Pen Pals experiences, check them out here.

I’m looking forward to participating in the next Foodie Pen Pals exchange! If you’d like to join in on the fun, click on the link below:

The Lean Green Bean
3 responses to “Foodie Pen Pals: September 2013

  1. Pingback: September Foodie Penpal | The Blonder Side of Life·

Penne for your thoughts?

